Öhlins Off to a Good Start in Dirt Late Model

March 1st 2013

Between mud pies and horseflies, the Dirt Late Models at the Lucas Oil 2013 Dirt Week in Florida saw another year begin with Öhlins domination. Racers with cars fitted with Öhlins won five of the six season-opening races at  Tampa’s East Bay Raceway Park’s 37th Winter Nationals. Dennis Erb Jr, Scott Bloomquist, Erb Jr. again, Don O’Neal, and Jimmy Owens, in that order, all earned wins. The overall Winter Nationals champion is O’Neal, who backed up his win with the best six-race consistency in this incredibly competitive sport.

At Dirt week Chapter  Two, after the racers moved across Florida to compete in the World of Outlaws and UNOH series, former 2011 champion Rick Eckert, who finished second overall in 2012, showed well with two second-place finishes, for a total of three top-five placings. Öhlins advantage winners include Billy Moyer and Scott Bloomquist, who each had big wins in The main events at Volusia County Fair Grounds.

The image shown here of O’Neal was taken with our Way-Back machine, so it shows O’Neal’s 2012 Late Model Dirt car rather than his new, mostly black, machine. We also give a big shout-out to Eric Wells, who’s already racked up two top-five finishes in his Dirt Late Model Bloomquist chassis’d #18.



What are you interested in?

Please enter your email address and select the newsletters you would like to receive.

Error Message